Primary School

College Square, Bristol BS1 5TS

0117 353 2052

What is EDI - Equality, Diversity & Inclusion?


The Equality Act 2010 introduced a single equality duty for all public sector organisations including schools.

This is known as the ‘public sector equality duty’ (PSED). The equality duty has two parts the ‘General’

and the ‘Specific’. The Act introduced 9 protected characteristics:    

  • age
  • disability
  • ethnicity and Race
  • gender
  • gender identity and transgender
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • religion and belief
  • sexual orientation